Historical evolution
                                The original Soochow University (DongwuDaxue in pinyin) was founded in Suzhou in 1900. In 1952, after the national adjustments for university departments in China, Soochow University, Southern Jiangsu College of Culture and Education, and Jiangnan University were merged into Jiangsu College of Culture and Education. Later in the same year it was renamed Jiangsu Teachers' College. In 1982, the college was reorganized and was renamed Soochow University. In 1995, 1997 and 2000, Suzhou College of Sericulture, Suzhou Institute of Silk Textile Technology and Suzhou Medical College were merged into Soochow University, respectively.

                                Soochow University(1900~1952)
                                Founded in 1900 by the American Methodist Episcopal Church, Soochow University was the most time-honored institution of modern higher education in China. At that time, its School of Liberal Arts and Sciences was located in Tiancizhuang, Fengmen, Suzhou, and its Law School on Kunshan Road, Shanghai. In 1929, the university was officially registered as Soochow University with the National Government in Nanjing. In 1952, after the national adjustments for university departments, Soochow University, Southern Jiangsu College of Culture and Education and Jiangnan University were merged into Southern Jiangsu Teachers' College. Later in the same year, it was renamed as Jiangsu Teachers' College. Over the past years, the university has nurtured many renowned scholars and personages.

                                University Gate (Signed by WengTonghe) On the back of the gate is our motto in
                                Chinese and English.

                                University Emblem

                                University Motto autographed by Yang Yongqing, the first Chinese President of the University. University Song Anthem University Flag

                                Lin Hall Zishi Hall
                                Constructed in 1901 and finished in 1903, named after Mr. Lin Yuezhi (Dr. Young J. Allen), the founder of the university. First opened in 1930, named after Mr. Cao Zishi, the Chinese founder of Buffington Institute.

                                Ge Hall Weige Hall Sun Hall
                                Constructed in 1922-1923, named after the father of Mr. Ge Lai'en (John W. Cline), the second president of the university. Built in 1932-1933, named after Mr. Li Weige, a donor to the university. Opened in 1911, named after Sun Yuewen (Dr. David L. Anderson), the first president of the university

                                Honors of Soochow University
                                Soochow University, with its long history, has played as a pioneering role in the modern history of higher education in China.
                                Soochow University was the first university to follow the western educational system in China (1900)

                                Dr. D. L. Anderson, the first president of the university Soochow University was registered in the State of Tennessee by theAmerican Methodist Episcopal Church, South

                                Yan Lai Hong, the first university periodical published in China (1903) The first university academic journal published in China
                                Xuefu, the first issue of the journal of Soochow University (1906)
                                The first Law School in China Soochow University was the first institution to offer undergraduate program of law (1915) and to confer the degree of Bachelor of Law (1918) in China.

                                In 1917, Soochow University conferred the degree of Master of Chemistry to Mr. Xu Jinhan and Mr. Chen Tiaofu.

                                Chen Tiaofu

                                Xu Jinhan

                                Xu Jinhan's Parchment of Master of Chemistry

                                Outstanding Alumni
                                Over the past century, Soochow University has fostered more than 300,000 professionals in different fields to the society, and many have become academic, political, and business elites.
                                Alumni of the university include some members of the Chinese Academy of Science or Engineering, such as Xu Deheng, Zhou Gucheng, FeiXiaotong, Lei Jieqiong, Sun Qimeng, Zhao Puchu, Qian Weichang, Dong Yinchu, Li Zhengdao (Tsung-Dao Lee), Ni Zhengyu, Zheng Pijiang, Du Ziwei, Yang Tieliang, ZhaLiangyong (Louis Cha), Zhu Yongxin, Tan Jiazhen, Liu Jiankang, Song Hongzhao and many others.

                                Li Zhengdao (Tsung-Dao Lee)

                                Qian Weichang

                                Tan Jiazhen

                                ZhaLiangyong (Louis Cha)

                                Yang Tieliang

                                Ni Zhengyu

                                Zheng Pijiang

                                Dong Yinchu

                                Zhao Puchu

                                Lei Jieqiong

                                Sun Qimeng


                                Xu Deheng

                                Zhou Gucheng

                                Du Ziwei

                                Liu Jiankang

                                Song Hongzhao